Here are 9 important questions to ask yourself when you begin to declutter a space.

1. Have I used this item in the past six months to a year?
2. Has anyone else in my home used it in the past year?
3. Do I have a definite use for this in the near future?
4. If it is broken, is it worth fixing/mending?
5. Does this item serve a worthwhile purpose in my life?
6. Do I need to keep it for legal or tax purposes?
7. Is it more important to keep the item than it is to have the space it occupies?
8. Do I love it?
9. Is this item difficult or expensive to replace if a time comes that I need it again?

There are no right or wrong answers. However, if you answered “Yes” to any of the questions, that may give you sound reason to hold onto the item. If you said “No” to any of the questions, pass the item onto someone else that can enjoy it or toss it out. Have a friend who does not have an emotional connection to the items help during the process of decluttering. The friend can help you stay on track and offer advice on clothing attire that may not be as flattering as you once thought. You may experience uncomfortable feelings during the process of decluttering. Stay focused and remind yourself of your goals and vision! You will be amazing at how free and light you feel when the process is over.

 

